Temporary Opening of Sabangan, Bontoc River Crossings

Days ago, a lot of motorists and commuters were worried they won’t be able to get to their intended destinations in Mountain Province without undergoing some extra discomfort.

Just this afternoon, an update from DPWH-MPDEO via the MPDRRMCO shows that a temporary road crossing the river in Tambingan, Sabangan has been made so vehicles (including buses) can get to the other side.

The Samoki Bridge is also open to light vehicular traffic at 6-hour intervals.

MTPDRRMC: Advisory on Lakbay Alalay:
November 1, 2016; @ 5:20 PM.

  1. Baguio-Bontoc road, OPEN to traffic. Construction of temporary road across the river was completed. Passable to light vehicles and busses only.
  2. Mt. Province-Nueva Vizcaya road, Chico Karayan bridge OPEN to light vehicles only but it will be CLOSE every after 6 hours interval for check up and inspection.
  3. All other rd sect. in this district are open to traffic.


Sabangan River Road Crossing after Typhoon Lawin 2016
Sabangan River Road Crossing after Typhoon Lawin 2016

Photo Courtesy of PPSC MT. PROVINCE